I am way behind but…. Spring Break

Standard

Hi everyone,

I know I haven’t posted anything in forever, but the last month has gone by so fast and has been very busy. I want to give a brief description of my spring break so that I don’t forget. I spent the week in northern Europe with my sister. We went from Oslo, Norway to Stockholm Sweden, to Copenhagen, Denmark. Overall I really enjoyed my trip and I am so glad we decided to do something a little different. I will start with Norway. I flew into an airport that was about 2 hours away from the city center. I thought the journey to get to the city was going to be a hassle and a waste of time. However, the beautiful two hour train ride ended up being one of my favorite things about Oslo. I got to fly in right over the fjords and see the beautiful coast. Most of the trip went right through the countryside and the surrounding suburbs. It was a really nice way to see something other than the city. When I finally met up with Karissa, we went to get a bite to eat. Then we realized how expensive everything was. Norway uses their own monetary system which has one of the worst exchange rates. So from then on we decided to buy food and cook it at our apartment. The first day was spent walking around the city, going to the opera house which overlooks the city, visiting the cemetery with Ibsen’s grave and grocery shopping. We spent the next day going to the national gallery where I really liked the exhibit on the local artist Munch. Then we went to the Viking museum where we saw old viking ships that were well preserved. We finished the day at a park where there were dozens of statues of mothers, father, and children. The next day we were in Sweden. By far my favorite city. It was so beautiful and had such a great atmosphere. We stayed right in the heart of the old city. We had some great food and were lucky to catch lots of sun. We even had a great spontaneous moment where we found ourselves in a concert hall and decided to buy tickets for a show. We also went to a photography museum which we both really enjoyed since they featured Swedish photographers and all of them were very interesting. We also visited the palace and spent some time riding the subway looking at street art. Finally we went to Copenhagen. We met some really interesting people and had a great time in all of the museums and attractions. However it was extremely cold and it snowed quite a bit, which made it difficult to stay out late and enjoy walking around. Overall I had a great time and would love to go back, especially to Sweden.

Leave a Reply

